RSS

20 – Trash, Guns, Idiot Grams, and Phucktards…Oh My!

19 May

So…this is the last week of school! YEAH! Woo-Hoo! Last week was…well…let’s just say I’m glad it’s part of the past.

1) Monday – I drove past this trash heap and watched as all my students walked past it in order to get to school…That was last week…it’s STILL THERE one week later! If that trash heap were in a suburban neighborhood, the community would be all over it! If I called and said anything about it…I would put my job on the line…but, the GOOD NEWS is that I won’t be returning so if the crap is still there tomorrow I’m going to call!

2) Wednesday – The natives began to get restless…students were walking, aimlessly, throughout the halls instead of going to class (hall monitors and our ONE Assistant Principal were trying to herd students back into classrooms). Stink bombs were detonated in various areas of the school, however, no motions were made by the administration to discover the culprit(s).

After school is when all the fun and fireworks occurred. Two male students engaged in a gun fight that is said to have been gang related. When the two young men caught wind of the fact that the “po-po” were on the way, they hopped in their respective cars and fled the scene. One of the young men was in such a hurry to escape that, in his haste, his car struck the car of a student’s parent. Realizing that he was stuck, the young man fled the scene on foot, and thereby abandoned the car.

3) Thursday – More stink bombs…A news crew came by, however, they were meet with the stony silence and solidarity that stinks of “cover-up.” No one in the front office seemed to take any of the students’ threats/plans for the last week of school seriously.“Oh, they’re not going to do anything,” or “They’re just all talk” were the responses I was met with when I named three teachers who have been targeted by my students. Where are they drawing this false sense of security from? Did they forget about Wednesday that quickly?

4) Friday – I was absent. I was experiencing breathing problems due to my asthma.

The disturbing thing about it is that one of my students had just confessed to me how her peers had been spraying perfume in my class ON PURPOSE (even after I had asked them not to BECAUSE it is harmful to people with asthma) because they thought it was funny. So…Thursday night, I was not surprised when I had, yet another, asthma attack. I immediately called for a substitute and emailed my principal (standard procedures for my school).

A colleague of mine sent me a text on Friday stating that I did not have a sub the entire day, and NO ONE in the office did anything about it!!!!! WTF? In fact, my colleague said (according to one of the students we share), the counselor came in and asked, “Where’s your teacher?” (um…HELLO…shouldn’t the principal already know the answer to that question…from his email AND the subfinder system)…the kids told the counselor, “She’s not here!” So, the counselor says, “Oh! We will have to do something about that.” Then she never returned…which meant that my classes matriculated, throughout an entire school day, in and out of my classroom with NO SUPERVISION! Students could have used my room for conception, child-birthing, drug-dealing, gambling, prostitution, personal gratification, oral sex, and a host of other things I don’t want to think of! I am glad that the education of the students mean so much to my fearless leader…his actions certainly correspond with the barrage of Idiot Grams he floods our emails with…like this one sent on 5/1/08 (an excerpt):

Also, relaxing on instruction and classroom management could make the last four weeks extremely difficult in maintaining appropriate behavior. If staff show (it should say “shows”) an indifferent attitude then we can expect some of our students to act in a similar manner. The tone you display will determine how we end this year and impact the culture next school year. If unwelcome incidents arise with students in a classroom where it is obvious there was not an attempt by staff to plan instructional activities; I will view the incident as being a result of the staff member’s lack of instructional focus and/or abandonment of expectations for classroom management. The student(s) and staff member(s) will then have to be reprimanded.

HA! HA! HA! O the irony and multiple grammatical errors …Seems like the INDIFFERENT phucktard who wrote this should follow his own advice 🙂

* See Post #3

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2008 in Work

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “20 – Trash, Guns, Idiot Grams, and Phucktards…Oh My!

  1. C-had

    May 19, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Is it ok if I thank you for making me feel better about my boring IT job? I don’t know how you do it…

     
  2. msfriendly

    May 19, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    LMAO 🙂 No, it’s okay because I’m looking for a “boring” job as well! I don’t think of other people’s jobs as being boring…just NORMAL!!!!

     
  3. Christopha!

    May 20, 2008 at 11:32 am

    It’s not enough that you do a thankless job in what sounds like the worst possible place, the administration has to “tongue-in-cheek” threaten you? Jeez.

    I stumbled across your blog about a month ago, and I’ve read many of your posts. It’s been entertaining, truly. But sometimes I feel that sense of resignation in you. I have to ask; why do you do it??

     
  4. msfriendly

    May 20, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Christopha – Thank you for reading my blog 🙂 …and yes…you are right…resignation has developed within me…especially to carry me through this year – I had to! We have no unions in this state and I could not walk out on this job without losing my certificate…I have all summer to mull over the question you have posed: “Why do you do it?”

    I will tell you that I LOVE teaching and I LOVE touching a young person’s life, but it doesn’t seem to be that simple anymore…I am seriously considering college-level instruction. I will be beginning a Ph.D. program in January.

    The problem that the community will begin to see is that all the “good” teachers will no longer want to teach because NCLB has sapped all of what’s creative and thought-provoking out of education. I have a lot of friends, who are bright people (the kind you would WANT to teach your children), who are jumping ship because of all of the micro-management and NCLB action occuring in schools…and what’s left isn’t pretty! Not ALL teachers are smart or engaging…some of them really are just in it for the summers and a pay check.

    If America is at all concerned about its future (children), then they had better be paying attention to education!

     
  5. The Red Pill

    May 20, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    “If America is at all concerned about its future (children), then they had better be paying attention to education!”

    I might just write in “Ms. Friendly” on my November presidential ballot.

     
  6. msfriendly

    May 20, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Ha! LOL! I was thinking of writing “Dr. Seuss” on mine! 😉

     
  7. polly

    May 21, 2008 at 12:19 am

    does anyone else find it somewhat ironic:

    “…our ONE Assistant Principal were trying to heard students back into classrooms)”

    Heard (Heard), imp. & p. p. of Hear.

    herd
    (hûrd)
    v.tr.

    1. To gather, keep, or drive (animals) in a herd.
    2. To tend (sheep or cattle).
    3. To gather and place into a group or mass: herded the children into the auditorium.

    Then your principal is criticized for his grammatical errors. Hmm.

    On another note, I really like your site.. informative. Makes me think: “what the hell is wrong with education in America?”

     
  8. tom

    May 21, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Obama might change things quite soon… 🙂

     
  9. msfriendly

    May 21, 2008 at 2:07 am

    Polly,

    THANK YOU for HAMMERING in that lesson on my one spelling error out of twenty posts! Got it! Correction granted.

    …Glad you like the site despite the irony surrounding my obvious hypocrisy.

     
  10. dkzody

    May 26, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Ah, the fun of teaching in an inner city school. Sounds as though you have more problems than I what with no union and administrators who seem less aware than the one with whom I must deal. We still have 3 weeks of school, and until the very last day, the administration will stay tough. The last day, a short day, gets pretty wild, but at least the seniors will have been gone for a week by then.

     
  11. Been there, done that

    June 10, 2008 at 4:18 am

    Thank you for giving me something to remember my days in that state! I miss the classroom tremendously, but I do NOT miss the crap you’re dealing with at this hell hole! As I’ve said many times before, your writing is fabulous and so much more than I ever imagined from you as your former colleague. I’m hoping this will be your last year to deal with all that ‘hot mess” and move on to a place where people truly appreciate all you have to offer to your fellow colleagues and students. Stay strong you wicked woman ! lol… I am so glad you’re taking one for the team! 🙂 Keep on blogging ! I love it !

     

Leave a comment