RSS

33 – The Testing Trap

15 Oct

 

I’m trapped! My concentration is shot…once again…being ass-fucked by the system (FYI: I don’t like that sort of thing).  Today is PSAT testing day…all teachers with homerooms are required to administer the test (Normally, I would not be one of those people because I do not have a homeroom…OBVIOUSLY because I already have a nit-wit).  However, when I arrive to work, there is an entire class of SOMEONE ELSE’S STUDENTS waiting for me!  Bye-bye to the three hours of grading and planning…bye-bye to my sanity…bye-bye to quiet.  No one told me that I would have to cover for a long-term sub because long-term subs cannot administer national tests. Yayyyyyy me!

 

So, in walk The Keepers of Grade 9.5 (now how in the hell you achieve such a status as nine and a half is beyond me…but that’s how the school has them listed).  How do you expect people who range between the ages of 15-17 (and one donning a house arrest anklet) to act?  UmmHmm…well, you’re exactly right!  Like poster children for Adderol!  Although not quite as unruly as my last punch of Garbage Pail Kids, they have mastered the art of whining, complaining, making plucking sounds with their mouths, talking, tying ropes around their necks, attempting to pass food, etc.!  No tom-foolery should be occurring during a national test!  Now, all we do is whine at the student…hoping that he or she will see fit to listen to our song of woe and cease their behavior (it doesn’t work).  This school will suspend students, but not for something like the disruption of a national test.  You have to fight.  Be in a gang.  Threaten bodily harm to a teacher.  All of those things have already happened here.  Last week was an arrest-fest!  I saw two students arrested during school hours, and heard of twelve others who were as well…So why would maintaining the integrity of a national test be of any importance to my adopted 9.5ers?

 

Public education is a joke! If I ever have a child, he or she will not attend one!

 

Yes, I know I’m a teacher…a veteran teacher at that…this year begins my 8th in the hole.  And I’m looking for an out…I predict graduate school in the very near future.  By this time next year, I hope to be knee deep in a Ph.D. program…possibly drumming up solutions to this mess we call public school education (and pissing off the educational policy makers who don’t know what they’re talking about…I’m coming for youJ).  This school year, so far, has been…eye-opening…a rollercoaster…difficult to muster through because I realize the problem with education is far bigger than “Do your work,” “Make good grades,” “Come to school.”  No…this is political, social, and economic… it has nothing to do with education.  This is about the “Have’s” and “Have Not’s” – the “Have Not’s” who eventually become the “throw-away” people of this society…the ones who are the most misinformed and the least educated.

 

Where have I been over the last few weeks?

 

Well…the last couple of months I have been trying to balance the shock of having to share my class with a nit-wit, illness, and warding off an upcoming case of Mid-Life Crisis (i.e. hanging on for dear life)!  Oh…and I forgot to mention the most scintillating news…the ENTIRE county lost its ACCREDITATION!!!!! Yayyyyyy!  So, I will not be returning here next year even if I wanted to…who would knowingly sign a contract with a school system that has no accreditation?  (sigh)

 

Okay, well…I’m out for now.  Next time I will tell you about Julius Caesar, the Evil Twins and “Whoopsie! There’s water on the floor.”  

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2008 in Work

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “33 – The Testing Trap

  1. jess

    October 18, 2008 at 2:47 am

    hi. i hope you find what you’re looking for. i miss you.

     
  2. Christopha!

    November 5, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    You had me at “ass-fucked”, even though you don’t like that sort of thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
