RSS

34 – Ms. Friendly’s Back…and Hey, Why Don’t You Work Here Anymore?!

24 Oct

No!  Don’t panic!  I didn’t ask for my old job back, but it did ask for me…(kind of)…

 

This week, my school system had two days off in the name of “Teachers-please-don’t- murder- your –students-Day”…okay…so maybe it’s not REALLY called  “Teachers-please-don’t- murder- your –students-Day”…maybe more like Fall Break.  But, whatever, it’s all the same to me!  Anywho, I had some business to attend to and that business happened to include my Fearless Leader from Ye Olde Ghetto Asylum in the inner-city.  Meaning…I would have to return to my old stomping grounds.  Whew!  My stomach was grumbling like two cats and a hyena stuck in a bag.

 

Two of my former students spotted me in the hallway, before I could even make it to the front office.  They both started giggling uncontrollably.  I gave them a hug and inquired as to what was so funny.  They shook their heads vigorously and were not able to produce a coherent response.  I made it to the office and Fearless Leader was not there; he was somewhere else in the building (apparently he leaves his office during work and walks about the school now…who knew?).  I sat in the office while I waited for him, and the word spread like wildfire…Ms. Friendly’s back!  Students were flooding the office to see me.  They came bearing hugs, smiles, and questions such as “Why did you leave us?  Are you coming back?  Where’s saneandsingle?”  I answered their questions and sent them on their way.  I was beginning to get a warm feeling inside after the welcome I received from my former students…after conducting my business with my former Fearless Leader, I decided to take the “long way out of the school.”  I ran into more students, and the reception from them was identical to the prior reactions of their peers.  “Why did you leave us?  Are you coming back?  Where’s saneandsingle?”  Then…more hugging…more squealing (OMG!  Ms. Friendly!)…more hugging.  It was like a family reunion.

 

I was nonplussed! 

 

Me: But you did everything humanly possible to place me in an insane asylum!  You barely listened to me when I was here.

 

Them: But the teachers here are boring.   Please come back!  Why did you leave?

 

Me: I don’t know…we’ll see…(Read: Fat chance!  Not as long as that man is the principal!)

 

Needless to say, I left feeling full of love and appreciation.  I think about those kids often…they have so much personality.  I wish I had a more experienced “leader” because the students suffered from the lack of administrative discipline and the eventual loss of two extremely talented teachers.  I can honestly say that I miss them because I know that they need me…however, I have teaching long enough to know that sacrificing values and personal health for others will only send one to the grave that much more quickly.   

 

Apparently I did make a difference.  Too bad the administration did not recognize my worth.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2008 in Work

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “34 – Ms. Friendly’s Back…and Hey, Why Don’t You Work Here Anymore?!

  1. saneandsingle

    October 25, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Yeah, I miss those bad little people now! Someone at my new teaching location asked me why I don’t like the new place, as I had stated that I feel much safer now. I just responded, “The children are immature and tend to bore me here.”

     
  2. doh!-rinder

    October 31, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    That’s the way it always is. Sadly, you never know how much of a difference you made or how much you were appreciated (loved?) until you’re no longer there (…”ya don’t know what ya’ve got till it’s gone…”) And I’m convinced the powers that be (the idiots in charge) wouldn’t notice it if it were written in giant letters and taped to their “How to be a Completely Ineffective Waste of Carbon” handbook.

    But on those occasions you get to see/hear how much you’re missed, it sure is wonderful…

     
  3. Sactoviking

    November 28, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Dear Professpr-In-The-Making,

    A random search for “Happy Bunny” stumbled me into your blog. Your job experiences overlap my own in ways uncanny in similarity. To be blunt, I just had to write, to say: that is some funny shit! And, no, your opinion of today’s youth does not offend me, just reinforces my own jaded,sarcastic opinions. Keep up the great posts. -Dave

    PS: Im a Deputy Sheriff.. at least we can do more than kill em with kindness. I wouldn’t do your job for millions.

     
  4. dcablackdread

    December 3, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    It’s nice to see you put down that pipe and started hitting those keys. We do so love reading your about your life.

     
  5. NotaRacist

    February 27, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    What a great site. The whole country is running a giant ponzi scam called the public school system. It should be shut down and school vouchers issued. Let private schools and parents raise and educate the kids. They’ll do a better job of it and the ones that won’t will have to deal with the consequences instead of the poor public school teachers.

    http://paleoconservatist.blogspot.com/2008/10/broken-public-education-system.html

    http://paleoconservatist.blogspot.com/2009/01/marxist-university-archipelago.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
