RSS

32 – Hay Gente Importante …And I’m Not One of Them!

20 Aug

Hay gente importante…pronounced (I *Hen Tay * M Pour Taun Tay)…which means…There are important people…

…and I’m NOT one of them!

I believe that I’m FINALLY getting the message…there’s no such thing as “just teaching.” Before I begin, please allow me to preface this rant by reiterating that this school is BETTER than where I came from (but so is Sasquatch’s bunghole), however the façade is beginning to crumble.

I believe in education. REALLY. I’m a nerd…I know I’ve said this before, and I mean it when I say it (proud of it, too). However, as a teacher in the urban and/or near-to-urban public school system, I believe that I am in the WRONG profession. Those people keep fucking with me! I just want to teach! I don’t want to deal with displaying their dozens and eons worth of meaningless, standards-based, data-driven posters and shit in my room! Today, a representative from the central office visited our department meeting to “warn” us that gente importante (important people) will be coming to our rooms this week in search of this paper shit on our walls. Also, said gente importante would be subject to place students under interrogation…seeking to discover the following burning academic enigmas:

w How often has your teacher incorporated writing into your lesson?

w Is your teacher preparing you for the state graduation test?

w Has your teacher demonstrated the proper method in which to structure a persuasive essay?

Never mind the fact that our school system has been in session for EIGHT DAYS!!!! This is the Inquisition. This is the delousing of a dirty whore’s crabs. This shit is for the birds! I don’t give a damn about the county and their expansive charts that cover a good four feet of wall space…what I care about is the cultivation of a positive learning environment/community within my classroom. I also care about:

w Making photocopies for students (of which is nearly impossible…13 English teachers have been allotted 1000 copies for the entire school year)

w Internet connections (so I know there’s a damn fire drill or STRANGER DANGER)

w Ability to access the school’s online grade book service (I just got a working computer in my room today)

w Student access to technology (non-existent)

w Updated class rosters w/access to student personal info…like parent’s phone number

Okay, okay…I know…I’m complaining again! But damn it…why is it so difficult to JUST TEACH? I am obviously not una persona importante!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2008 in Work

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “32 – Hay Gente Importante …And I’m Not One of Them!

  1. saneandsingle

    August 23, 2008 at 12:06 am

    “Delousing of a dirty whore’s crabs”??? Ah, the beauty of figurative language!

     
  2. Justagirlblues

    August 27, 2008 at 2:26 am

    Rant all you want. I agree with you actual teaching isn’t allowed.

     
  3. Kilted Science Guy

    September 3, 2008 at 2:46 am

    And lo the small man walked into the room, and it was good. Thy nitwit shall get nervous and drop a bomb and lo the anguish teacher shall suffer. I walk through the shadows of the disenfranchised student and I shall not want.

    Namen.

     
  4. Mrbrownjr

    October 2, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Stop bitching. Put up the posters, and then let your students draw on them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
