RSS

8 – Demoralization is a Hot Mess!

03 Apr

flava flav

*Crittle73 said in response to7- Life During Wartime (Removing Our Heads from the Inside of Our Asses)”:

This system is set up so that these “students” fail! There are no consequences for anything they do. They aren’t held up to expectations, but the teachers better get those test scores up! Who cares if the kids come to class 30 mins late and leave 10 mins early? Who cares that fights are breaking out in the classroom? Who cares if “students” are cursing out the teacher? Just don’t send them to the office!! It’s your job as a teacher to break up fights, stop constant name-calling, bullying, and cursing, AND to produce a 70% pass rate on the state test!

Ms. Friendly says:

This particular system IS constructed so that these children will fail…and they do! The verdict of DEMORALIZATION has been bothering me…still! I know it shouldn’t because the person who made the decree has no idea of what he’s talking about. It is easy to dish out judgment from the “cushy,” comfy, and cozy side of the fence. It is more difficult to come away with rose-colored glasses still intact when the shit is all up in your face on a daily basis…when the stench follows you home like a lost puppy (but less cute)…when the ailment of the machine grips you and infects you even in the hours you are away from the building.

A failing system is one of smoke and mirrors…everything looks to be in place from the outside. However, if you scratch the shiny surface…you will recognize the veneer to be yellow plastic and never gold.

During the first week of school, we had no schedules, no text books, no copy machines, or printers. For those of you who are NOT educators…I will translate. A HOT MESS! We had students in rooms doing absolutely NOTHING for an entire school day! This continued for three full days until they were given a quasi-schedule (meaning it would change yet AGAIN)…WTF? And while I had said “students” in my care, serving their quasi-student-tude, I was to provide them with “QUALITY” TEACHING! (bite me). How? How? and…How? I had no text and no way of copying or printing anything to assign to my quasi-students! What did I do? I’m sure you’re asking that question…I did what any seasoned teacher does…I improvised. I used my PERSONAL money to make copies at Kinko’s (class sets)…that’s sooooooo fucking demoralizing isn’t it?

I did not understand why I was using my HARD earned money to fund the FREE and PUBLIC education of my students when a well-known philanthropist just donated $3 billion dollars to our school system in the name of school reform…WTF? Can I get a copier, printer, and some texts please?

Guess what? I STILL DON’T HAVE TEXT BOOKS FOR ONE OF MY CLASSES! The school year will be over in a few months.

*To read crittle73’s full comment, please refer to Post #7

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2008 in Work

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “8 – Demoralization is a Hot Mess!

  1. crittle73

    April 3, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Woo hoo! I inspired a blog entry! Yay me! I have you beat though…I have 4 classes with no textbooks (2 different subjects)! Yep, 4 out of the 6 classes I teach, I’m pulling assignments out of thin air with no resources! I have become the Queen of Lesson Plan Hiests! Hee hee…

     
  2. bug56

    April 3, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Ouch, It shouldn’t be legal to make you work under those conditions. Seems incredibly unprofessional. Kudos to you for staying strong and doing your best, sometimes that’s all we have.

     
  3. Crouching Bride, Hidden Bridezilla

    April 8, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Hollllaaaaa! Major props to Crittle too! Unfortunately she’ll probably still see the same students using her background in psychology, criminology and current education in law. At least now, she can get the satisfaction of putting them away! Heeee heeee!
    Demoralization? What chu tawlkin’ bout Willis?! As I told you, what these students and administration have done is demoralizing. What this system and parent’s of these children you teach have done is demoralizing. Not being able to eat egg products is demoralizing to the soul, but thank God for small mercies and bisquits not containing egg products. At least there is some justice in the world!
    Your so called “friend” can take is fancy car and latte and shove it up his pretty little warped minded ass!

     

Leave a Reply

 
