RSS

6 – Stuff Inner-City Students Like (Visiting the “Weed” Man with Mama)

31 Mar

not crack

Today, my students were given the assignment of collaborative essay writing.  Somewhere in between brainstorming and outlining, two students who were sitting the closest to me began to discuss the ills of living with mothers who are always saying that there is no money.

G1: “Oh, girl, yeah I know…my mama is always talkin’ bout she ain’t got no money, but why she be turnin’ the corner to the weed man house when she sayin’ it?”

G2:“-And goin’ right to the do…”

G1:“Umm Hmm” 

 Oh the irony; Mama had enough money to buy “weed!”

 Apparently, Inner-City students like to visit the weed man with Mama…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “6 – Stuff Inner-City Students Like (Visiting the “Weed” Man with Mama)

  1. The Juuice

    April 1, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Wow!

     
  2. Crouching Bride, Hidden Bridezilla

    April 1, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    “PAAAAAAASSSS THE DUTCHIE ON THE LEFT HAND SIDE….HOW DOES IT FEEL WHEN YOU GOT NO FOOOD…” How nice, it’s gone from conversations at the family dinner table to, “puff puff give mama!”

     
  3. Jess

    April 1, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    I’m impressed by their use of nouns as adjectives. This looks like an opportunity for a grammar lesson if I ever saw one. Either that or the beginning of a snoop lyric.

     
  4. jellybird

    January 11, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Ok I don’t know what to say, other than. I hate it when white people go to innercity anythings and then make a running commentary about it for other white people comment on. Yes! oh great missionary to the savages you have a job in the innercity(white or black) but then the Us and them starts rolling out freely. It isn’t a zoo. I isn’t about a culture anymore it’s about stereotypes. this is just that. so what its happening but you have just put in a public forum for comment. If I saw this blog and I was a students parent I would take issue with you using my child to further bad stereotypes and not try to educate your people not to make fun.

     
    • msfriendly

      January 11, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      @jellybird

      You really ought to READ the entire blog before making incorrect proclamations. Had you read the FIRST entry, you would have learned that I am African-American. I am sorry if you are unable to read objectively enough to glean the fact that this blog IS reality…it is the reality, and not the stereotype, of the lives of the students I once taught. How can truth be a stereotype?

      There is NOTHING funny about the sub-par educational facilities, drug houses, abusive parental relationships, lack of base-level security (i.e. food, shelter, clothing, sleep, etc.), attachment to the system, etc. that my former students were subjected to. Yes, I am snarky…yes, my delivery may make you THINK that I’m poking fun at it…but I had to laugh to keep from crying. I felt as though I was in a 3rd World Country. Those conversations were authentic! I find it sad that you have the nerve to attempt the “shame on you” BS towards me…never once stopping to ask since when has it become acceptable to visit the weed man with your parent. You don’t find that disconcerting? You don’t think that that parent should have to cough up some accountability? HA! Of course not…this society is no longer built on the principle of being personally accountable, and has therefore gotten painfully good at scapegoating!

      “If I saw this blog and I was a students parent I would take issue with you using my child to further bad stereotypes and not try to educate your people not to make fun.”
      …And if you did that, then you would miss the point. I am placing a mirror in the face of our society/community and I’m asking them to take a look at what’s REALLY going on with inner-city, black youth. I am asking the community to take responsibility for themselves and their “brothers” because we have created a monster…an insatiable monster!

       

Leave a Reply

 
