RSS

2-Zombies Phone Home

28 Mar

Zombies

I can’t believe this! This week is starting to turn into a rendition of Shaun of the Dead (sans the humor)…students who were kicked out, arrested, or suggested to withdraw are now returning. WHY?! WHY?! WHY?! If I disconnect the head from the body do you think it will hold the “zombies” back?

Student #1…let’s call him…”Blow em up!” At the beginning of the semester last year, he threatened to blow the school up, had marijuana in his locker (yes, an entrepreneur in our midst!), AND was hauled off of school property wearing designer handcuffs 😮 “Blow em up!” is back now and I’m wondering how his presence will affect the disorder of my classroom.

Student #2…let’s call him…”Nightmare.” He began the school year by sexually harassing me and another teacher. Some of “Nightmare’s” most memorable quotes during his tenure at It’s the Students’ World High School are as follows:

1) “Ms. ***, why you ain’t answer the phone when I called you this morning?” This question was shouted loudly in the hallway during class change. Several students looked at him and at me as if to ask…He has your phone number? Embarrassing!
2) “I’m going to come over to your house later tonight and knock that out.”
3) “You miss me last night?”
4) “Yes, Baby.” As a response whenever I asked him to STOP walking around the room while I was teaching, to STOP talking to other students while I was teaching, to STOP harassing other students with put-downs while I was teaching, OR to actually DO his work, WAKE UP, etc.!
5) During one class period (not his), he stormed into my classroom while I was teaching. I was sitting on the top of a desk with my back slightly turned to the door. Our principal did not understand the importance of enabling teachers to lock their own classrooms, so I did not have a key…my room was Grand Central Station…anyone could walk in at will and THEY DID! On this particular day, “Nightmare” walked in and placed his hands on my shoulders and proceeded to massage my shoulders. I jumped and turned quickly. I ordered him out immediately, but I felt VIOLATED because he said “What? It’s me, Baby!”
6) Oh…and don’t forget about the pelvic gyrations, directed at me, while he was standing in the doorway of my classroom. Atrocious!

The BEST part is once all of this inappropriate behavior was called to the attention of my fearless leader, the other teacher and I were instructed to “Call home.” Call home? Call home? Are you serious?!!!! I tell you that a STUDENT has been sexually harassing me and all you can up with is “call home?” I was under the impression that ANY form of sexual harassment was REQUIRED to be reported. It WAS NOT reported. My fearless leader was not the least bit interested in the situation. The other teacher and I called “Nightmare’s” mother and the behavior stopped for a while, and then returned in small spurts before he completely withdrew from the school. However, my fearless leader (let me repeat) did not follow up with the event, did not speak to “Nightmare” about the importance of respecting teachers, did not bother to DO anything other than say “Call home.”

I am hoping that there will be no more resurrection of zombies…I don’t know how much more of this I can take.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2008 in Work

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “2-Zombies Phone Home

  1. mama jane

    March 28, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Next time put it in writing to the police, baby chicka! note: How didi you pulish on march 28, 2008 at 1:10 am when I am replying on March 27, 2008 at 11:49 PM – love you baby! 🙂

     
  2. Strange Nathan

    March 28, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Holy crapola…I can’t believe you have to put up with that. These are our *schools* for chrissakes.

    I’m glad you’re writing this blog. Maybe it will open up some eyes.

     
  3. Hotness Von Lictencracker

    March 28, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    No Ms. friendly! When you disconnect the head from the body, it just keeps telling the body it’s happy, until it dies!

    You can see this concept in action — put a mirror beside your television.

    Why you ain’t answer the phone?

    YOU BETTER DON’T!

    he ain’t wit me

     
  4. Pretty Boy Skout

    March 29, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    It is really sad that your yellow-bellied principal did not do anything. All that does is leave it all on you. Who knows what those “student” would do if they really tapped into that kind of knowledge.

    The sad thing about it all is that the kid is probably a good learner. He probably has no educaitonal support at home. Probably never ever had any support in that capacity. And know, all he can do is figure out ways to manipulate the situation and cause disruption so he looks like a star.

    Know that he is withdrawn from school, he gets to cause havoc and mahem within the sourrounding communities. GREAT!

     
  5. Crouching Bride, Hidden Bridezilla

    April 1, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Shane and I watch too many episodes of “the next 48” where the average criminal is 16-24 years old and from the “inner city.” Sad thing is the majority have remorse…robbing and killing to buy diapers.
    Call home? Are you friggin’ kidding me? Please file a police report!!! Thank goodness you’re getting out of there!

     
  6. bug56

    April 3, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    You shouldn’t tolerate sexual harrasment, It should have been reported. Sexual harrasment is a crime, and I’m surprised your administration failed to see that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
